Skip navigation

Daily Archives: November 30th, 2008

This was a terribly played game.  The team was listless and only showed sporadic bursts of good play.  I know it was their third game in four nights, but this has been typical of the Capitals play on the road.  Their current road record is 4-8-2 and 9-0-1 at home.  Does this tell you something?  No one went to the front of the net and no one went into the corners to hit somebody.  Steckel had a great night in the faceoff circle and total shots taken were fairly even.  I guess my real problem with last night’s game was with Backstrom.  He made a terrible pass up the middle when trying to leave the zone.  Of course, it was a turnover and led to a goal.  The thing I hated was he didn’t even hustle to try and hit the guy or even get in the way.  Jurcina was there, but was backpedaling because he assumed (I am guessing) that Backstrom would be competent enough not to do something that stupid.  Whatever.

Backstrom’s mistake on the power play led to Nash’s second goal.  Again, he didn’t hustle on the backcheck.  I am not sure he would have caught Nash, but just hustle anyway and show your team you care a little bit.  What do ya say????  Backstrom has been like this all season, and last year as well, and I guess the Caps are going to let him get away with it because he passes to Ovie.  I would like to see what Backstrom does centering the third line.  I am sure his numbers would plummet and his +/- would go way down becuase he wouldn’t backcheck.

On the plus side, I am impressed with the improved play of Kozlov over the past few games.  I guess his knee is healed.  I also thought Bradley had a couple nice hits last night as well.  Now, Alzner is hurt and Hershey will have to send someone else up.  Oh boy.  This is getting brutal.

Thoughts?