Skip navigation

Daily Archives: November 8th, 2008

I am reading that Tyler Sloan was called up for Morrison and will play with Poti.  It also appears Feds will not play as Steckel and Fehr are in the lineup.  Only the fourth line will be its normal lineup as Backstrom is back on the top line with Ovie and Semin.  Johnson is in goal.  Nylander will center the second line.  Oh, Clark is not playing either.  I don’t know what the deal is.  It may be a benching.  I am sure that won’t go over well with him.

Thoughts?

I am reading that Morrison does indeed have a groin pull.  Sucks.  Federov has a “lower body injury.”  I love the NHL’s new injury reporting policy.  Give me a break.  I hope none of these injuries are serious.  I suspect we’ll see Alsner called up for Saturday’s game.  We’ll see.

Wow!  How exciting was this?  The Caps haven’t been scoring goals and so Ovie, Semin, and Feds were put on the top line and guess what happened?  Goals.  Ovie had the three primary assists.  Federov had a beautiful set play goal and of course Semin’s game winner with 11 seconds left.  A nice pass and shot.  I don’t think Ward saw the puck.  Ward looked very good throughout the night and deserved better, but Johnson outdid him.  My concern with the Caps of late has been poor passing and overpassing.  The power play looks terrible and the puck continues to roll off sticks.  It is so frustrating to watch.  However, the penalty kill continues to impress and is the reason the Caps won vs. Carolina and took a point in Ottawa.  The PP needs to have more shots!  Shoot already!  I am going have to have a talk with Backstrom.  Every pass doesn’t need to be gorgeous.  Just put it on the winger’s stick already!  Whatever.  In his defense, he looked much better against Carolina.  Keep moving forward buddy.

How cool is Brooks Laich?  He blocks a shot by taking it in the log, he is hobbling off the ice (I am sure he couldn’t even feel his leg), and he  STILL stops the D to D pass along the blueline????  Are you kidding me?  That is why I like this guy.  He does the garbage work it takes to win games.  The crowd gave him a real nice ovation when he finally got off the ice.  Well done, Mr. Laich.

Brent Johnson continues to impress with 32 saves.  I thought Carolina’s second goal was a little soft, but the Caps overcame it.  I hope they stay with Johson, but something tells me that Jose will start against the Rangers on Saturday.  We’ll see.

The Caps got a good win at home against the division leader.  Well done!  Let’s ride this into Saturday night against the Rangers.

Thoughts?

The following was stated by Penguin’s coach Michel Therrien regarding Semin’s comment about Sidney Crosby:

“Is he talking about the youngest guy to get 100 points in the history of the NHL?  Is he talking about the youngest guy to win the Hart Trophy and lead the league in scoring?  Is he talking about the youngest captain in the NHL to bring his team to the Stanley Cup Final?  That’s all I have to say.”

Ha!  Good stuff.  Now, Malkin and Crosby can hate Ovechkin and Semin.  I can’t wait for the next Pittsburgh game.  Of course, Malkin and Crosby are girls and won’t fight so Brashy and Bradley better be ready.  Good stuff!

Also, ESPN’s John Buccigross take stock of the Capitals with the following:

“Concern about the goaltending is the only issue.  This seems like a team that could just explode with 10 wins in a row at any time.  The Caps have so much to like up front.  I think once they figure it all out and catch a groove, they could become a major force in the league.  As a fan, I wold just be concerned about whether my goalie is better than some of the other guys in the Eastern Conference. Again, you don’t win with good goaltending come playoffs time; you win with great goaltending.”

Amen.

Thoughts?

Ugh!  Well, we got a point on the road.  I guess that is good.  One goal in two games.  Brent Johnson continues to be man as far as I am concerned.  Jose just looks uncomfortable and makes me nervous.  Johnson seems far more comfortable and he made some fantastic saves, especially the poke check save on Alfie.  How cool was that?  Alfie didn’t even know he lost the puck it seemed!  Very cool.  Johnnie had 42 saves which is great, but it also means the defense gave up 44 shots.  Geez.  That is the Caps of old and also means the forecheck is not effective.  Puck control!  C’mon already.

I thought the Capitals worked harder, but I still don’t see anyone in front of the net or working the boards.  The net front is where Laich usually gets his goals and I don’t see him there.  I am not happy with that, but maybe Boudreau has changed something of which I am unaware.  If that is the case, then I do not approve.  Someone has got to bother the goalie, create traffic, and allow shots to get through unseen.  The think the goals will come back if that happens.  Until then, hope for shutouts.

The penalty kill looked really good, especially the 5 on 3 kill.  Of course, the Caps are getting plenty of practice at it by being in the box ALL THE TIME!  Laich’s hooking penalty was stupid and the call on Federov was arguable at best, but add an additional two minutes for the unsportsmanlike puck flip into the wall and there is 4 minutes lost when the Caps really needed it.  The Caps have been in the box more than their opponents in 10 of their 11 games.  That has got to change.

Chris Clark played 8 minutes and had three hits.  That is what you want from  your captain?  Why not make Kozlov captain and just make the C worthless altogether??????

Finally, does anyone feel comfortable with Green’s defense.  Hey, score 20 goals.  Good for you, but put a body on somebody.  Hit somebody!  Geez, at least try to get in the way.  I am uncomfortable with Green and now that Morrison is hurt, that could be trouble.  Shaone takes a lot of abuse for Green and now he is throwing up blood for it.  Now, I guess it is Schultz’s turn.  Good luck buddy!

Thoughts?

Hi Everyone,

I have been away for awhile.  I was visiting a very special lady.  Forgive me, but she is prettier than you!  Anyway, I missed the whole west coast swing, the Nashville and Buffalo games, but I did catch the Carolina and Ottawa games the other night (more to come on that).

Ovie being away obviously hurt things, but the Capitals have not been playing well.  They don’t seem to be working like they did at the end of last season and the first 5 games or so this season.  Of course, the quality opponents haven’t helped.  Also, how about Semin’s award?  Very cool.  He has played very well, but I would like to see him learn to shoot without dragging the puck every time.  Goalies I am sure are going to be looking for that move.  A quick, surprise release will prove fruitful for him, I am sure.

When is Clarkie going to do something?  Geez.  You are the captain for pete’s sake.  At least he hit somebody the other night.  And is Kozlov going to do more than skate around the ice?  Does he have a point?  I just don’t see his contribution and that is just not this year.  The end of last year was the same.  Step up, buddy!

Fehr and Steckel have been regular scratches of late.  Maybe Steckel could get on the fourth line for Gordon?  Shaone Morrison gets a CAT scan after throwing up blood?  He took a puck in the puck in the abs apparently (didn’t see the game).  He was back playing the other night, but now appears to have hurt his groin?  Great.  This guy is getting killed and Kozlov skates around.  Unreal.

Whatever.  Thoughts?