Skip navigation

Ugh!  Well, we got a point on the road.  I guess that is good.  One goal in two games.  Brent Johnson continues to be man as far as I am concerned.  Jose just looks uncomfortable and makes me nervous.  Johnson seems far more comfortable and he made some fantastic saves, especially the poke check save on Alfie.  How cool was that?  Alfie didn’t even know he lost the puck it seemed!  Very cool.  Johnnie had 42 saves which is great, but it also means the defense gave up 44 shots.  Geez.  That is the Caps of old and also means the forecheck is not effective.  Puck control!  C’mon already.

I thought the Capitals worked harder, but I still don’t see anyone in front of the net or working the boards.  The net front is where Laich usually gets his goals and I don’t see him there.  I am not happy with that, but maybe Boudreau has changed something of which I am unaware.  If that is the case, then I do not approve.  Someone has got to bother the goalie, create traffic, and allow shots to get through unseen.  The think the goals will come back if that happens.  Until then, hope for shutouts.

The penalty kill looked really good, especially the 5 on 3 kill.  Of course, the Caps are getting plenty of practice at it by being in the box ALL THE TIME!  Laich’s hooking penalty was stupid and the call on Federov was arguable at best, but add an additional two minutes for the unsportsmanlike puck flip into the wall and there is 4 minutes lost when the Caps really needed it.  The Caps have been in the box more than their opponents in 10 of their 11 games.  That has got to change.

Chris Clark played 8 minutes and had three hits.  That is what you want from  your captain?  Why not make Kozlov captain and just make the C worthless altogether??????

Finally, does anyone feel comfortable with Green’s defense.  Hey, score 20 goals.  Good for you, but put a body on somebody.  Hit somebody!  Geez, at least try to get in the way.  I am uncomfortable with Green and now that Morrison is hurt, that could be trouble.  Shaone takes a lot of abuse for Green and now he is throwing up blood for it.  Now, I guess it is Schultz’s turn.  Good luck buddy!

Thoughts?

Leave a comment